2011 FIFA Women’s World Cup In Germany

The long wait is over. On Monday evening, 29 November 2010, each of the 16 FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 participants finally found out who they will be up against in the group stages of next year's tournament. Over 600 guests attended the event at the Frankfurt Congress Centre, where each team's fate was revealed during a glittering 45-minute show.

There was plenty of excitement about Group C, in which the USA, Korea DPR, Sweden and Colombia will be battling it out for a place in the quarter-finals. Hosts Germany face Canada, Nigeria and France in Group A. Canada will open the 2011 Women's World Cup tournament against two-time defending champion Germany on 26 June 2011. In Group B, Japan, New Zealand, Mexico and England will all fancy their chances of a top-two berth and subsequent place in the knockout stages, while Group D also had tongues wagging as Brazil, Australia, Norway and Equatorial Guinea were all drawn in the same section.

Monday evening's show also provided the Local Organising Committee (LOC) with the ideal opportunity to generate yet more enthusiasm for next year's festival of women's football. Legendary German international Günter Netzer and top model and women's football ambassador Adriana Karembeu conducted the draw, with FIFA Head of Women's Competitions Tatjana Haenni hosting the event. German pop-rock band Wir Sind Helden provided the entertainment on a thoroughly enjoyable evening for all those in attendance.

"The Women’s World Cup in Germany will help women’s football to take another step forward," said Worawi Makudi, FIFA Executive Committee member and Chairman of the Committee and FIFA World Cup, while Steffi Jones, President of the LOC could hardly wait for Germany's first-ever FIFA Women's World Cup to start. "For two and a half years we have been looking forward to hosting this World Cup. With this tournament, we want to make history.” said Jones.

Overview of the FIFA Women's World Cup 2011 groups:

Group A: Germany, Canada, Nigeria, France.

Group B: Japan, New Zealand, Mexico, England.

Group C: United States, North Korea, Colombia, Sweden.

Group D: Brazil, Australia, Norway, Equatorial Guinea.

Source: FIFA

Bookmark and Share

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


FOOTBALLMONKEY is an independent site, that was founded out of passion for football. Our goal is to bring you the best in football news without any prejudice or bias. We are going bananas over football, all the time! Thank you for your visit and support!