World Cup 2010 : And The Award Goes To...

 Spain created history at the Soccer City, Johannesburg after they beat Holland 1-0 to clinch their first ever World Cup. In doing so, they became the first team ever to lift the World Cup after losing their first match in the World Cup. They also became the first European team to lift the World Cup outside of Europe. They dominated the possession in every match they played. Their ball control was second to none and their passing and movement was smooth, silky and very easy on the eyes. Spain deservedly walked away with the biggest prize in football.

Undoubtedly, there have been some individual players that stand-out from the rest through out this tournament. Some carried the weight of a team on their shoulders, some displayed match-winning performance whenever they played. Equally, they deserved praise and honour same as the World Champions. And the award goes to...

Golden Ball Award

Golden Ball is the award for the best player of the tournament. The nominees are Diego Forlan, Asamoah Gyan, Andres Iniesta, Lionel Messi, Mesut Oezil Arjen Robben, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Wesley Sneijder, David Villa , and Xavi

And the Award goes to.....DIEGO FORLAN!

I never thought FIFA would do something this sensible but they have done it and Diego Forlan deserved it. Nobody would have thought Uruguay would make it to the Semi-Finals but they did it with the inspirational Diego Forlan.

He was the engine of the Uruguayan side. He was force which pulled Uruguay into the Semi-Finals. He scored 5 goals in the 7 matches he played. He had 15 shots on target. And though he not their captain but he was Uruguay's leader. He scored from a free-kick against Ghana when his team needed the goal. He scored a brilliant goal from a volley against Germany and he was always there when his team needed him. He also had a great season at Athletico Madrid in which he scored 30 goals and won them the Europa League. Silver Ball goes to David Villa while the impressive Wesley Sneijder awarded Bronze Ball

Golden Boot Award

The Golden Boot is awarded to the top goalscorer of the FIFA World Cup. With Diego Forlan, Wesley Sneijder, David Villa, and Thomas Mueller all tied at 5 goals each, FIFA decided to award it to the player with the most number of assists.

And the Award goes to...Thomas Mueller!

Thomas Mueller had a phenomenal World Cup, scoring 5 goals in 6 matched and topping it with 3 assists. He has been one of the stars of the tournament. He was the heart of the German mid-field and played his part in almost all of their goals.

His performance against England and Argentina was the highlight of his tournament. He also put on a man of the match performance against Uruguay to make sure Germany finished 3rd in this World Cup.

Golden Glove Award

The Yashin Award, named in honour of the late goalkeeper Lev Yashin of the USSR, is awarded to the best goalkeeper of the tournament. This year FIFA changed it's name to Golden Glove

And the Award goes to...Iker Casillas!

Casillas didn't have a great start to the tournament. He looked a little edgy and wasn't comfortable with the Jabulani ball. He made some spills and had some scary moments. As the tournament progressed his performance improved. He made a number of crucial saves, including a penalty against Paraguay. His performance against Germany in the Semi-Final was exceptional.

In the Final, he was brilliant. He made some unbelievable saves in one-on-one situations against Robben and kept Spain in the match. Casillas wasn't at his best in the World Cup, but still he deserves the Golden Glove. That speaks volumes about his goalkeeping abilities. He is the best there is.

Best Young Player Award

The award is given to the best player in the tournament who is at most 21 years old.
The nominees are Giovani Dos Santos, Thomas Mueller, and Andre Ayew.

And the Award goes to...Thomas Mueller!

No surprises here. He has played only 2 matches for Germany before he came to South Africa. But from the moment he entered the pitch against Australia and played a major part in the the 4-0 demolition of the Aussies, you could see he belonged there.

He wasn't overwhelmed or over-awed by the stage he was on but played fearlessly. He scored and created goals along the way. Germany missed him very much in their 0-1 defeat to Spain in the Semi-Finals.

FIFA Fair Play Award

The FIFA Fair Play Trophy is given to the team with the best record of fair play during the World Cup final tournament. Only teams that qualified for the second round are considered. The winners of this award earn the FIFA Fair Play Trophy, a diploma, a fair play medal for each player and official, and $50,000 worth of football equipment to be used for youth development.

And the Award goes to...SPAIN!

In a world cup where 17 red cards and 260 yellow cards were shown Spain only received 8 yellow cards, 5 of which were shown in the final. Spain play football, the way it should be played. The rarely show the ugly side of it. They keep it clean and they keep it beautiful.

Bookmark and Share

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...


FOOTBALLMONKEY is an independent site, that was founded out of passion for football. Our goal is to bring you the best in football news without any prejudice or bias. We are going bananas over football, all the time! Thank you for your visit and support!